The Seven Critical Areas of an SSR (Statement of Service Requirements)

There are seven critical content areas for a statement of service requirements to help ensure that it is complete, accurate and serves its purpose as a basis for negotiation with both the business lines and your potential outsourcers.

In summary these are:-
  1. Introduction
  2. Background
  3. Scope
  4. Specification
  5. Service Management
  6. Constraints
  7. Instructions to service providers

Let's take some time now to examine in more detail the possible contents in the first three areas of an SSR.

1. Introduction

- Purpose

- Composition / Outline of Contents / Summary of main drivers

- General Information / Company / IT Service Challenge / Cost reduction / Value Improvement

- Background / Leading up to the production of this SSR

- Nomenclature / e.g. paragraphs marked "M" are madatory requirements ("D" = desirable, "I" = information)

2. Purpose

- Outline the content of any supporting appendices / material

- Outline the business objectives / why you are doing this

- Key business requirements to be supported

- Testing objectives / what has to happen before you feel confident enough to transfer / go-live

3. Scope of the SSR

- Services Included

- Services Excluded (and why)

- Service options/additions that you will consider

- Relationships with other named providers

- Current relationship with the incumbant service provider

Not all of this information is readily to hand and may require some focussed effort to research and compile it. In the above example content it would also be advisable to have a business representative as part of the SSR creation team.

In the next article, we will explore the remaining four areas of an SSR as well as look at how to implement one into your organization.

To understand the background to SSR's in more detail you can reasearch more and gain access to free information such as free whitepapers, example templates and vendors vist here

Additional Resources